As a Hiring Manager, you have the ability to pause a job at any given time, but, it does not delete the job. When a job is paused, Referrers and Candidates will not only be unable to view it on the job board, they cannot send or submit any new applications.
If you have any candidates in queue prior to pausing, you will still be able to proceed or decline them. They are never notified if your job is paused, but they will be alerted when your job is closed.
Does my job ever automatically pause?
In your Hiring Manager dashboard, you are able to set a limit on how many applicants, interviews, and hires you would like to receive or conduct. As a result, when your posting has reached it's limit, you will be prompted to pause or close the job. This will never happen automatically.
Hiring Managers are able to change these quantities at any time.